Australian Music Foundation

The Australian Music Foundation UK is a charitable organisation based in London, which aims to promote and celebrate Australian musical life, by offering scholarships, performing opportunities and mentoring to young musicians who wish to pursue their post-graduate studies overseas. 2015 awardee, violinist Emily Sun, won the 2016 Royal Overseas League Gold Medal and the 2018 ABC Young Performer Award in Sydney, and soprano Lauren Fagan has recently appeared with Opera Holland Park as Violetta in La Traviata, and in Wagner’s Ring Cycle at the ROH,Covent Garden. Other distinguished Alumni include baritone Peter Coleman-Wright, pianist Jayson Gillham and guitarist Craig Ogden.

For AMF News, please see below. Applications for 2019 will open in April.

See our latest Newsletter by clicking Here

Exhibition Hall, Australia House.jpg

AMF Spring Showcase

Tickets are now on sale for the AMF Spring Showcase, hosted by our Patron His Excellency the Hon George Brandis QC in the magnificent Exhibition Hall at Australia House on Wednesday 20 March. The Showcase is a wonderful opportunity to present some of our recent awardees in concert. The evening will begin with a sparkling drinks reception, kindly sponsored by McGuigan Wines and Little Creatures Ale, followed by a short concert with performances by some of Australia's most talented young musicians. Afterwards, a hot supper will be served with McGuigan's red and white wines and Little Creatures Ale, and there will be an opportunity to meet the performers and other AMF alumni who are now making their way in the profession. We hope to see you there.

6.30 - 7.00: Drinks Reception
7.00 - 8.00: Concert
8.00 - 9.00: Drinks and Hot Supper

TICKETS: £40 including drinks and supper, via Eventbrite (please click)

DRESS CODE: Smart/Business attire

A vegetarian option will be available for supper

PLEASE NOTE that photo ID is required for entry to Australia House

ADG 2019-104.jpg

Australian of the Year in the UK

Many congratulations to AMF Chairman, Yvonne Kenny AM, who was named Australian of the Year in the UK at the Australia Day Foundation awards ceremony at Australia House last night. Pictured left, receiving her award from High Commissioner HE the Hon George Brandis QC.

Yvonne Kenny is one of the most distinguished sopranos of her generation. She was born in Sydney and gained a BSc in Biochemistry before moving to London to study singing. She made her operatic debut in 1975, after which she joined the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden where she remained a member of the company until 1994.
She built an enviable reputation as a dazzling interpreter of works by Handel, Mozart, Donizetti, Britten and the heroines of Richard Strauss, with international appearances at the Wiener Staatsoper, La Scala Milan, Salzburger Festspiel, Staatsoper Berlin, Opera de Paris, English National Opera, San Francisco, Glyndebourne and the Staatsoper, Munich.
Throughout her long career Yvonne has continued to return to Australia, singing major roles with Opera Australia and performing with all the major symphony orchestras. She was honoured to perform at the closing ceremony of the 2000 Sydney Olympics. She also has a discography of over 66 international titles including her Gold Disc Simple Gifts for ABC Classics. She was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 1989 for services to music and received an Honorary Doctorate in Music from the University of Sydney in 1999.
Yvonne now devotes her time to teaching and mentoring young singers. She is a Professor of Voice at London’s Guildhall School of Music and Drama and a vocal coach with the Jette Parker Young Artists Programme at ROH Covent Garden.

AusUKChamber logo_blue.jpg

Australia Day Gala

The AMF was delighted to be invited to partner with the Australia-UK Chamber of Commerce for their Australia Day Gala at Simpson’s at the Savoy on the Strand on 29 January 2019. There were performances by AMF awardees violinist Emily Sun from Sydney (winner of the ABC Young Performer Award 2018), soprano Samantha Clarke from Perth and pianist David Soo from Clayton, Victoria (both studying at GSMD). Many thanks to all at the Australia-UK Chamber for this wonderful initiative in support of the AMF and for their generous donation. Photos: Peter Livingstone. L to R: David Soo, Emily Sun, Samantha Clarke, Group: Elizabeth Rossiter, accompanist, Emily Sun, AMF Chairman Yvonne Kenny AM, David Soo, Samantha Clarke.

AWC lunch Amy, Yvonne, Samantha.jpg

Australian Women’s Club Luncheon at Spring Restaurant 25 January 2019

Many thanks to the Australian Women's Club in London for inviting AMF Chairman Yvonne Kenny and alumni saxophonist Amy Dickson and soprano Samantha Clarke to their Australia Day luncheon at Skye Gyngell's restaurant, Spring, at Somerset House. The focus was on celebrating young Australian talent, and the AMF are most grateful for the generous donation presented by AWC President Helen Sargent. Photo credit: Louis Amore Photography

Join our Mailing List  

             Click on the icons to follow AMF on Facebook and Twitter               


 Latest AMF News below: